Main Menu

Home Graphic Design

Graphic Design

As a creative discipline, Graphic Design is primarily concerned with visual communication. Our responsibility as designers is to determine how to effectively posture messages, and to create expressive and efficient visual systems for the communication of information, especially as it increases in complexity. In order to do this, designers must have a broad base of knowledge, including a comprehensive understanding of visual design principles, problem-solving methods, conceptual thinking, image-making, typography, organizational structures, and critical thinking. Our process-oriented curriculum engages students in the exploration of visual communication strategies and techniques across a variety of media and is designed to prepare students to enter the field as nationally-competitive creative professionals.

BFA in Graphic Design

Students who wish to enroll in the new BFA in Graphic Design program must meet with a College of Fine Arts Advisor to declare the major.

- Curriculum and Sample Four-Year Plan

- First Year Advancement

To advance to the Second-year level of the program, First-year students must meet minimum grades and apply by portfolio.

Students seeking to begin their second year in Fall 2022 may submit applications from March 28 through April 1, 2022. Specific guidelines and submission instructions and will be provided here before Monday, January 10, 2022. This information will also be e-mailed to all First-year Graphic Design majors.

- First Year Advancement Policy

- Second Year Review

To advance to the Third year level of the program, all Second-year Graphic Design BFA students must pass Second-year Review.

Students completing their second year in Spring 2022 will be provided with specific guidelines and submission instructions near the beginning of the Spring 2022 semester.


- Carol Sogard - Professor, Graphic Design Head
- Dan Evans - Associate Professor
- Henry Becker - Assistant Professor
- Michelle Peterein - Assistant Professor (lecturer)
- Ray Morales - Professor Emeritus

Additional Faculty

- Courtney Blair
- Jaimee Christensen
- Kent Christensen
- Shelby Guergis
- Zak Jensen
- Matt Nieuwland
- Kevin Perry
- James Rabdau
- Randall Smith
- Amy Thompson
- Cardon Webb