As a creative discipline, Graphic Design is primarily concerned with visual communication. Our responsibility as designers is to determine how to effectively posture messages, and to create expressive and efficient visual systems for the communication of information, especially as it increases in complexity. In order to do this, designers must have a broad base of knowledge, including a comprehensive understanding of visual design principles, problem-solving methods, conceptual thinking, image-making, typography, organizational structures, and critical thinking. Our process-oriented curriculum engages students in the exploration of visual communication strategies and techniques across a variety of media and is designed to prepare students to enter the field as nationally-competitive creative professionals.


We are currently transitioning our curriculum in Graphic Design from the BFA in Studio Art–Graphic Design Emphasis to a 4-year BFA in Graphic Design. This transition will be gradual. Only the new introductory courses (first-year) in the new degree program will be offered in the 2019/20 academic year, with the other new required courses rolling out successively over the next four years. These new courses have the DESGR designation.

- New Graphic Design BFA

Beginning Fall 2019, new students are able to enroll in the new 4-year BFA in Graphic Design program. These students must meet with a College of Fine Arts Advisor in order to do so and will have an expected graduation date of Spring 2023.

-BFA in Graphic Design Requirements
-First-Year Review (BFA in Graphic Design) REVISED FOR SPRING 2020
-Sophomore Review (BFA in Graphic Design)

- Continuing Art BFA / Graphic Design Emphasis

For the 2019/20 academic year, students who are in their Sophomore, Junior or Senior years of Graphic Design studies will continue with their requirements for the BFA in Art / Graphic Design Emphasis. These are students whose expected graduation dates are Spring 2020 (Seniors), Spring 2021 (Juniors), Spring 2022 (Sophomores). For specifics about fulfilling your requirements, please contact a College of Fine Arts Advisor.

-Sophomore Review (BFA in Graphic Design) REVISED FOR SPRING 2020

Full-Time Faculty

- Carol Sogard, Professor, Program Director
- Dan Evans, Associate Professor
- Henry Becker, Assistant Professor

Adjunct Faculty

- Michael Aberman
- Jaimee Christensen
- Kent Christensen
- Ken Messenger
- Kevin Perry
- James Rabdau
- Randall Smith
- Amy Thompson
- Cardon Webb